TKHS Students Take Honors with State MITES Projects

More than 70 projects were entered in the state contest with many receiving first, second and third place honors. One of Seth Mahler’s mechanical engineering projects earned a first place in the state and a Divisional B Award. 

Mahler earned four first placings, as well as one third, fourth, sixth and eighth places at state. He also earned four honorable mention awards.

Elizabeth Middleton and Will Nathan also brought home numerous awards. Middleton won two first place honors, two second place honors, a third, ninth, 10th and honorable mentions. Nathan earned a first, second, fourth, fifth, 10th and honorable mention awards. 

Other first place winners included Emilia Sanborn, who also received a fourth place for a second project; and Ryan Skidmore and Kylan Pratt for a project they worked on together.

The engineering and architecture classes are taught by Scott Meyers. 

In Layn Welker’s principles of technology class, students made pens. Ashton Nichols earned a first-place state award, /Lane Schoendorf earned third and fourth place state awards, and Owen Forbes received fifth and sixth place honors.

Here is a complete list of students and their state MITES awards:

Ainsley Parsons - 3rd, 5th, and honorable mentions

Seth Mahler - Divisional B award, four 1st place honors, 3rd, 4th, 6th, 8th and honorable mentions

Nolan Bowers - 4th

Adam Gunnink - 4th, two 8th placings, and honorable mentions

Natileigh Merchant - 3rd and 8th

Kaylie Cross - 5th and 9th

Ben Scott - Two 2nd place awards

Jake Kelley - Honorable mention

Emilia Sanborn - 1st and 4th

David Temple - 2nd, 3rd, 7th, 9th, honorable mentions

Elizabeth Middleton - Two 1st place, two 2nd place, 3rd, 9th,10th, honorable mentions

Caden Strait - 9th, 10th, honorable mention

Nathan Koester - 2nd, 3rd, two 9th places, honorable mentions

Ryan Skidmore and Kylan Pratt - 1st

Dylan Bailey - 2nd, two 10th placings, honorable mentions

Will Nathan - 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th, 10th, honorable mentions

Kyle Porritt - Honorable mentions

Elizabeth Wieringa - Honorable mentions

Ashton Nichols - 1st

Lane Schoendorf - 3rd and 4th

Owen Forbes - 5th and 6th