Thornapple Kellogg School District

Skip to main content

January is Board of Education Appreciation Month

The eighth-grade choir sang a special song for the board thanking them for giving them the opportunities to grow and be successful.

Lee Elementary Student Council members presented each board member with a special name plaque with each letter of the members' name used to start a word describing that person and their work on the board. Lee students also offered special thanks by telling the board a little about what they are able to do as student council members and how special it is to them to have a board who works for the district and give students opportunities.

Board members also each received a different educational and leadership book and were asked to read their book then share it with another board member.

TK Superintendent Tom Enslen said the board does a sometimes thankless job, but one that is critical to the wellbeing and success of the district. Board members, he said, have to make difficult decisions and balance the needs of all students.

The board also reorganized for the year with Don Haney taking over as president. David Smith has served as president for more than six years and said it was time to hand the reigns over to someone else.

Cindy Ordway was elected vice president, Kristen Cove as secretary and Anne Hamming as treasurer. Other board trustees currently serving are Jeff Dickman and Alexis Snyder.

If you see a board member - be sure to thank them for their efforts in serving TK Schools!