Thornapple Kellogg School District

Skip to main content
Kindergarten students use iPads in the classroom.
Page students crept into sleeping bags to read for an afternoon.
TKHS BPA students compete at the state contest in Grand Rapids.
Page principal Michael Gelmi kissed a pig after students reached their reading goals for the month.
This aerial view shows the TK Middle School, soccer fields, tennis courts and surrounding areas.
TK staff create a giant
TK hosted their annual chess tournament in the spring.
Elementary students learn to float as part of their swim lessons.
TKMS students practice measuring liquids and solids.
TKMS students construct a structure they hope will withstand the force of an earthquake.
TKHS art students show their award-winning works.
TKMS students perform
An aerial night view of the TKHS Bob White football stadium shows it all lit up during a game.
TKHS students perform
The TK student section cheers on the basketball teams during a red out game to support the American Heart Association.
Page students spend some time reading with younger McFall students during reading month activities.
Lee Elementary PE teacher JoAnne Desy and principal Angie Jefferson lead students in the
Members of the TKHS jazz band rock the gym at the varsity basketball games.
The TKHS Odyssey of the Mind team is one of three teams from the district advancing to the world finals!
The TK Middle School band performs their first concert of the year.
McFall students play
McFall principal Jon Washburn dressed up as a chicken after students met their reading month challenge.


Date: 5/6/2017
Location: GR Children's Museum
TKHS Symphonic Band Concert
Date: 5/16/2017, 8 PM
Location: TKHS Auditorium
Jazz Band Concert
Date: 5/18/2017, 8 PM
Location: TKHS Auditorium
TKHS Concert Choir Pops Concert
Date: 5/21/2017, 2 PM 3 PM
Location: TKHS Auditorium

TK News

Strong Schools, Strong Communities Millage Vote is May 2

Strong Schools Strong Communities logo

This is a short video offering additional information about the KISD Strong Schools Strong Communities enhancement millage vote on the ballot in all KISD schools May 2. If you have any additional questions before May 2, please contact the administration office at 795-5521 and talk with Superintendent Tom Enslen or Assistant Superintendent Rob Blitchok.

TK Cross Country Teams Honor "Coach B"

TK cross country coaches unveiled a new banner renaming the TK Invitational as the

Thornapple Kellogg High School honored former girl's cross country coach Tammy Benjamin by renaming the TK Cross Country Invitational to the "Coach B" Cross Country Invitational.

All KISD Schools to Seek Regional Enhancement Millage

Schools in the KISD are seeking a millage on the May ballot.

TK will host a community forum at 7 p.m. April 19 in Middle School room 1616 to offer information about the millage and answer questions. This is an important millage question that will mean about $650,000 for TK Schools each year for the next 10 years. Find out why the funds are needed and how they will be used by reading the Strong Schools, Strong Communities information.

TK Students Get Swim and Water Safety Lessons

Elementary students learn to float in the pool as part of a four-week swimming lesson as part of their physical education classes.

Lee Elementary students safely lowered themselves into the Thornapple Kellogg High School pool, hanging on to the side until swim instructor Terri VanderKooi gave specific instructions. One small group at a time, children laid on their backs to float. Then they did a freestyle stroke to swim across the width of the pool. Children who weren't quite ready for that challenge stayed at the end of the pool where they could touch the bottom and where physical education teacher JoAnne Desy helped them one-on-one.

Show All News »